Deer Abilene,

At the beginning of this semester, it dawned on me that I had to find a house to live in for the next two years. At ACU, only freshman and sophomores are allowed to live on campus unless you live in the University Apartments, which juniors and seniors live in. But the apartments are a little out of my price range. In the midst of searching frantically for nice abodes, which are going quickly, I came up with an idea. Now, my idea has nothing to do with a house. My idea is about what’s going to be in my house.


I have always loved pets. Growing up, I can remember having strange pets in the house. We had a pot-belly pig named Bubba (who lived in the kitchen of all places), an Oreo loving Dalmatian named Whiskey, a couple of frogs and even a crawfish. Right now I have two dogs back home, Dipstick and Shumba. Animal oddities have always been somewhat of a commonality for me. There is no doubt that the strange pets I’ve had in the past has inspired my most recent idea for a pet.


Call it day dreaming, but my ideal pet for my Abilene residence is a muntjac deer. I even have a name picked out – Sergeant Horns. Now for those of you who may be unfamiliar with the breed, muntjac deer, also known as “barking deer,” only grow to be about three feet tall. At full maturity, muntjacs only weigh forty pounds. They are native to the Asian continent and can jump up to five feet in the air. They are cool little creatures. And just as their nickname suggests, muntjacs do bark like dogs.

muntjac deer

I did a little research to see if it was even legal for me to obtain such an odd pet. And sure enough, muntjac deer are legal in Abilene city limits. Laws in Abilene require for wild animals kept as pets to be no more than forty pounds, making it legal for anyone to own a muntjac. But just to be sure, I asked City Manager Larry Gilley who said it was more than likely okay. He did encourage getting a dog, however saying that Animal Services would strongly discourage a deer.


But before you go out and buy a Sergeant Horns for yourself, you first have to know that muntjac deer are not cheap. In fact, if you want to take the “cheap rout,” you’ll want to buy a male, which can cost you up to $600. Females are top dollar reaching up to $1,200 for one.

One thing is for sure though, you will for sure be known as “that guy with the deer.” And that odd title is fitting for someone who makes animal oddities a commonality.

One thought on “Deer Abilene,

  1. Betheny says:

    How is UP out of your price range when it includes all utilities, and free laundry. You couldn’t have your deer, however. 😦

Leave a Reply

