Becoming Aware of a World Outside My Own

Two weeks ago, ACU held a chapel forum for Invisible Children. Invisible Children uses film, creativity, and social action to end the use of child soldiers in Joseph Kony’s rebel war and restore Northern Uganda to peace and prosperity.

Representatives for Invisible Children, also called Roadies, showed a video that told people what the program is all about. The video is called “Tony” and tells about a child named Tony and the struggles he went through in Africa. It also showed clips of little kids having to leave their homes to stay in the city for the night. No child is safe over there.

Invisible children started when three young filmmakers traveled to Africa in the spring of 2003. They discovered a tragedy where children are both the weapons and the victims.

The three men were so inspired that they created the “Invisible Children” documentary.

Now, Invisible Children is a non-profit created to transform apathy into activism. This summer U.S. teachers will travel over seas to spend six weeks team-teaching in Invisible Children partner schools, sharing ideas and teaching methods.

People can help the children in Africa by donating money each month to the Invisible Children program or by being involved in the upcoming 25th campaign. On April 25th, anyone can join Invisible Children and create a silence that will be heard around the world.

The 25th campaign stemmed from thousands of people in central Africa being silenced by the LRA for the last 25 years. So for 25 hours, thousands of participants around the world will go silent so that the victims of the LRA will be heard. Money raised from this event will fund The Invisible Children Protection Plan and bring life saving communication and rehabilitation projects to the victims of the LRA.

Tony, the child featured in the video a couple weeks ago, was actually there at ACU. Now he is an adult. When I saw him standing up there in front of us college students, the reality of it all hit me: there really are children suffering over in Africa. I know I saw this all throughout the film, but my eyes were closed to the effect the war had on these kids. When I was able to see one of those children standing in front of me, a child who had suffered the loss of his mom and close friends, it tugged at my heart.

Yes, there are summer camps and organizations that help grow kids in America. And there are programs for kids in need, but we are not the only country with kids that need help. I guess I am at fault for getting caught up in my own little world and what is immediate in my own life. I am really glad Invisible Children came to ACU because my eyed were opened to a world around me I was not fully aware of.

Leave a Reply

