“Nobody puts baby in the corner.”

Read the title? Name the movie….

Duh, Dirty Dancing.

Can you tell that’s my favorite movie? I have every line pretty much memorized and I’ve even been begging my fiance to let us do the famous dance at the end of the movie for our wedding. As most normal people would, he declined.

With any good movie, there comes copycats, imposters, and the inevitable sequel. For those unfortunate souls who had to see Dirty Dancing 2: Havana Nights, I apologize. Some people just don’t understand the saying, “if it’s not broke, don’t fix it.” No one could tell the love story of Johnny and Baby better than Patrick Swazye (R.I.P.) and Jennifer Grey.

So you can understand my disgust when I found out there was a tv series in 1988 that is based on the movie. Take my word for it, it’s terrible. For those of you who don’t trust me, take a look at this clip of the show’s opening.
That atrocity got me thinking. What other tv shows were created based on movies?

Here’s one that you probably know. NBC’s hit show, Parenthood, is based on Ron Howard’s 1989 film. I haven’t seen the film, but the tv show is hilarious. Perhaps it is worth checking out? Also, another little tidbit about the show, Parenthood, was introduced on NBC in 1990, but only survived one year. I think it is safe to say it is doing much better this time around.
Okay, you want another one? How about Ferris Bueller’s Day Off? This movie, also starring Jennifer Grey, was one of my favorite movies growing up. Another thing I am not ashamed to admit. This show, also airing on NBC in 1990, was titled, Parker Lewis Can’t Lose. Here’s clip for those that are curious.
I’ll leave you with another one of my favorite guilty pleasure movies, Clueless. Did anyone catch the 1999 tv series of the same name? No? “Oh my gosh. Whatever. As if.”

Leave a Reply

